Allergies

If you suffer from a food allergy or intolerance, then hopfully, this page covers the most common allergens as well as suitability for vegetarians or vegans. The food vendors are all independent operators and all should be displaying allergen information. For beers, ciders, mead and wine, in most cases suitability of a drink for Celiac suffers, vegans and vegetarians is incorporated into the tasting notes in the programme. The presence or absence of gluten will also appear on cask end signs with any other available allergen indications.

As with all allergies etc., please do check that you are happy with the suitability of a product for your particular requirements. Please ask at where the product is being served from for more information. Any products listed here are subject to availability. If you feel you are having a reaction, please, contact our stewards for medical help.

43rd Cambridge Beer Festival

For the 43rd Cambridge Beer Festival, we have identified the following products that maybe suitable for Celiac suffers, vegans and vegetarians.

Gluten-free Products

The following beers, have been ordered, which we believe are Gluten-free.

  • Hop Back, Crop Circle
  • Nene Valley Brewery, Bible Black
  • Nene Valley Brewery, Dark Horse
  • Nene Valley Brewery, Fenland Farmhouse Saison
  • Poppyland, Coffee IPA
  • Poppyland, East Coast IPA
  • Stringers, Turbine Porter

To complement these gluten-free beers, we will also have some gluten-free bread to accompany our wide range of cheeses.

Vegan Beers

These beers are unfined*, and the descriptions provided, do not suggest that they contain any other animal products, so they are therefore could be suitable for vegans.

  • Bexar County, I Love To Hate You
  • Bexar County, Oak Aged Papa Steve
  • Bexar County, Scarecrow Army
  • Bexar County, Tainted Dove
  • Bexar County, Un Poquito Pequeño
  • Calverley's, American Brown
  • Calverley's, Mosaic
  • Calverley's, Porter
  • Pig & Porter, Born Lost
  • Steel City, Beleidigung Zur Geschichte

The following beers, based on the allergen statements, indicate they are also suitable for vegans, but are fined*.

  • Abstract Jungle, Casual
  • Boudicca, Spiral Stout
  • Boudicca, Three Tails Bitter
  • Crafty Beers, Mild Mannered
  • Crafty Beers, Sauvignon Blonde
  • Three Blind Mice, Half Wit
  • Weird Beard, Decadence Stout
  • Weird Beard, Tsujigiri
  • Windswept, Weizen
  • Windswept, Wolf

Vegetarian Products

In addition to the above beers suitable for vegans, the following beer has been identified as being suitable for vegetarians rather than vegans, because, it is believed it contains lactose.

  • Weird Beard, Little Things That Kill

Some bottled beers and normally all ciders and wines are also suitable.

*What are finings?

Most real ales use finings to help in the clarification of the beer. A popular type of finings is Isinglass, which is obtained from the dried swim bladders of fish. A few beers are sold unfined, though they don't always claim to be suitable for vegetarians and/or vegans.